It is the main square in our province, surrounded by historical buildings.
Located between 25 de Mayo, San Martín, Laprida and 24 de Septiembre streets, it is the main public promenade, the heart of the city. This square exhibits valuable typical examples of the Tucuman vegetation: lapachos, laurels, tarcos, ibirá pita and a double row of orange trees that surround it.
The square was built during the colonial period to house the government buildings and the Cathedral, but over time it grew and became a must-see, a busy center, surrounded by bars and museums that have preserved their appearance to this day. Also different buildings with a wide variety of architectural styles that give it a unique characteristic.
Its distinctive seal is the statue of Liberty that rises in the center, the work of the sculptor Lola Mora from Tucumán, who made it at the request of the then president Julio Argentino Roca. It was placed there for the centenary of National Independence and inspired by the sculptural model of Victoria of Samothrace, a woman’s body covered by clothing that flies in the wind and breaks the chains as a symbol of freedom.
A fountain from the 19th century is also preserved.
It is the most revered monument in Argentina, where National Independence was sworn in on July 9, 1816.
It is located in the city center, just 200 meters from our boutique building. This late 18th century construction belonged to Francisca Bazán de Laguna and constitutes, without a doubt, one of the most important historical sites in Argentina.
Over the years, the house was demolished and remodeled, leaving only the Jura Hall as the only part of the original construction. It was declared a National Historic Monument in 1941 and rebuilt around 1943 by the architect Mario José Buschiazzo. The Museum of Argentine Independence has been in operation since then.
Of great value to all Argentines, the museum’s heritage is made up of objects from the colonial era, the wars of independence and the 19th century. Its main mission is to communicate the historical process that led to the declaration of Independence of the current Argentine Republic. Its permanent exhibitions are The Colonial Period – Tucumán in the Colony – Revolution and Wars of Independence – History of the House – Creole Silverware – The Congress of Tucumán – The Congressmen of 1816 and the Jura Hall of Independence.
In its two patios, it is possible to observe different species of trees and plants such as milk jasmine, myrtle, Paraguayan jasmine, pink lapacho, sour orange, white carob, among others.
You can also see the presence of Argentine Army soldiers who wear historical uniforms of the Teniente General Racedo Mountain Infantry Regiment 10, which by National Law 24024 are the custody of the Historic House.
The museum has bilingual staff, a free and open library, educational workshops, and a photo library and archive, the schedules of which should be consulted in the Museum’s Reports section. It also has a shop where you can buy souvenirs, handicrafts and souvenirs alluding to the province.
A must-see in the museum is “Lights and Sounds of Independence”, an audiovisual show that takes a historical tour of the foundations that led to the declaration of Independence of our Nation. The stage invites you to walk through the House accompanied by the story of time and projections of images and light inside the Museum.
Address: Congreso 151 – San Miguel de Tucumán
Phone: (0381) 4310826
Just 100 meters, in front of Plaza Independencia, is this historic and public building.
Located at the intersection of San Martín and 25 de Mayo streets, on one of the corners in front of the main square, it is the highest-ranking public building. It was built between 1908 and 1910 at the request of Governor Luis F. Nougués, it was inaugurated on July 9, 1912. Years ago, it was declared a National Historic Monument.
The Government House was built to replace the Cabildo in the years of modernization due to the new and growing sugar industry that made the province the most important in the North of Argentina, but still lacked important buildings.
Its architectural style combines French Baroque with Italian classicism and arose as a need to symbolically communicate its role as a public building.
Hundreds of national and international figures passed through its majestic White Hall; one more reason for tourists to visit this interesting building.
In the entrance hall, crowned by a large bronze and marble chandelier, lie the remains of the illustrious Tucuman Juan Bautista Alberdi.
When it gets dark the lights on its façade come on, making the ideal postcard of the central part of the capital.
Address: May 25, 90- San Miguel de Tucumán.
Yerba Buena is a town and municipality of Tucumán, Argentina located west of the capital city of the province (San Miguel de Tucumán) in the homonymous department and of which it is the head. It is part of the urban conglomerate called Gran San Miguel de Tucumán. Due to the high development and urbanization, there you can find shopping malls, local, both regional and national brands, even imported brands. Within the municipal ejido are the studies of Canal 10, the Aero Club Tucumán, the School of Agriculture and Sacarotecnia dependent on the UNT, the Tucumán Rugby Club, the Jockey Club of Tucumán, the experimental reserve of Horco Molle and just finished building it It finds the central campus of the Universidad del Norte Santo Tomás de Aquino in the northern part of the municipality, and a wide variety of shopping malls and shopping centers.
Located in front of the main square of San Miguel de Tucumán, the current Mercedes Sosa Theater, was a cinema in its other life. Inaugurated in 1946, this building was designed to function as a cinema-theater, it was then one of the most outstanding rooms in the country for its luxuries, introducing the latest technological advances in cinematography of those years to the province.
The place had been closed for eighteen years, on April 1, 2014 it was officially inaugurated, with the name of Mercedes Sosa, in homage to the great artist from Tucumán, after more than 100 years since a new space for these characteristics in the province. Inside it has capacity for 1594 people, divided into stalls (900) and the rest on two levels. The stage was also expanded with equipment to be able to do theater, ballet, opera and conventions.
It has 12 dressing rooms with lighting, sound and new cabins. A renovated room with enviable luxury, lighting and acoustics. While on its façade it preserves the first work of Arch. Alberto Prebisch, a careful regularity with pure lines, the finish of a circular glazed cloth and perhaps a neocolonial illusion, make the Mercedes Sosa theater a jewel in the middle of the city .
It is the main green walk in the capital of Tucumán, known as the “lung of the city.” It is located to the east between Avenida de los Próceres, Avenida Benjamín Aráoz, Avenida Gobernador del Campo and Avenida Coronel Suárez. It was drawn in the shape of an oval, the idea of the French architect Carlos Thays and inaugurated for the celebrations of the centenary of Independence in 1916.
Many species of trees and an impeccable green give life to this park that contains many monuments. You can see the floral clock, the light source, Lake San Miguel and some of the most notable bars and restaurants in Tucumán. In addition, it has health tracks, playgrounds for children and a rose garden whose perfume takes over the environment.
It was the Jesuits who first cultivated sugar cane in the province. However, after his expulsion, Bishop Colombres decided to resume this practice by carrying it out in this place.
The house was built in 1800, as the home of Bishop Eusebio Colombres and represents a clear testimony of the colonial houses of the late 18th century. There is a museum that keeps many of the bishop’s belongings and on the outside, the wooden mill with which the old mills worked the cane is preserved. Without a doubt, an icon of our history that is worth visiting. It was declared a National Historic Landmark in 1941.
Daily excursions and different alternatives to get there.
A perfect tourist place to enjoy the day with family and friends, taking advantage of the proximity and facilities to get there, its comforts and the unbeatable view of the city to the Greater San Miguel de Tucumán.
From the mountains of San Javier, tourists can have a perfect panoramic view of the entire city of San Miguel de Tucumán, just 25 kilometers away. This small mountainous countryside of undulating hills covered with a green tapestry, has numerous summer residences and contains one of the most beautiful landscapes in the province for the practice of tourism.
To access it from the provincial capital, you must head towards Yerba Buena, take Aconquija avenue and go through it until you reach the “El Corte” roundabout. Continue along Provincial Route No. 338 and after approximately 12 kilometers of mountainous route, you will arrive at the town of San Javier.
A must-see is the monumental statue of the Blessing Christ, the work of Juan Carlos Iramain, which, at 28 meters high, rises between the hills and constitutes a hallmark of the people of Tucuman. The Interpretation Center located at the base of the Christ has high quality graphic displays in which the history of the monument and its creator are narrated. It also has an impressive collection of scale reproductions of the most famous similar statues in Argentina and the world.
San Javier presents accommodation and gastronomy options for those who decide to visit it, as well as numerous stalls where tourists can buy handicrafts as a souvenir of the place.
It is an optimal setting for multiple activities, including mountain biking, trekking, horseback riding, zip-lining and quadricycle rides.
Only 26 km separate San Miguel de Tucumán from this tourist destination.
In the Cadillal, tourists can enjoy excellent gastronomy, campsites and picnic areas where they can spend a unique day accompanied by an ideal climate: neither cold nor hot, but very pleasant.
Only 26 kilometers from the capital is the Celestino Gelsi dam, surrounded by the Medici hill and the incomparable Sierras de Medina. The reservoir was completed in 1965, it is 11 kilometers long by 4 kilometers wide and has a maximum depth of 67 meters. It bears its name in honor of the former governor of Tucumán, who promoted its construction.
From the capital city, it can be accessed through National Route No. 9 and, after approximately 20 kilometers, connect with Provincial Route No. 347, traveling 5 more kilometers until reaching the dam.
For adventure lovers, El Cadillal is the ideal alternative: canyoning, kayaking, mountain biking, windsurfing, kitesurfing and fishing are sports that are practiced by the hand of qualified professionals in a setting of hills, relaxation and a lot of green.
A dreamed place to walk, enjoy the landscape and some delicious mates with family or friends.
Just by arriving at this summer town, the tourist will be able to have before his eyes one of the most paradisiacal landscapes of the province, in which the vegetation, the gentle hills, the crystalline rivers and the dozens of forests will invite him to relax and forget about the urban bustle in an ideal climate.
Located approximately 50 kilometers from San Miguel de Tucumán, this summer town can be reached through National Route No. 9 to connect after 27 kilometers with Provincial Route No. 341. From there, approximately 25 more kilometers are traveled.
One particularity that will captivate tourists is that all the streets of the town are named after songs by the renowned Atahualpa Yupanqui, who was considered one of the most important Argentine folk musicians. His compositions have been sung by renowned interpreters, especially from Argentina, and in honor of him a monument was erected in the town.
Raco has golf and duck courses; in addition to numerous options for active tourism such as trekking, mountain biking and horseback riding.
Chosen by a large number of tourists throughout the year, Villa Nougués is a destination that the visitor will never forget, characterized by its mixture of exquisite architecture with green hills full of vegetation.
The town stands out for being one of the first in the province, since it was born in 1899 with the construction of the summer house of the engineer Luis F. Nougués, an important sugar businessman and later, governor of the province.
It is a picturesque summer town located 24 kilometers from San Miguel and 1,350 meters above sea level, which can be explored on foot, on horseback, by bike or by car. It has an exceptional climate, with hot summers and cool winters, but in both seasons the temperatures are moderate, which makes every walk pleasant.
To get there, the visitor has two options. The first is, from the provincial capital, head towards Yerba Buena, take Aconquija avenue and cross it until you reach the “El Corte” roundabout. Continue along Provincial Route No. 338 and after approximately 12 kilometers of mountainous route ending in the town of San Javier. There, continue along the same route heading south for approximately 10 more kilometers until you reach Villa Nougués.
The second option is, also from Yerba Buena, to take Avenida Solano Vera to then connect with Provincial Route No. 338 and continue along the latter for approximately 15 more kilometers.
An important icon is its neo-Gothic chapel built in 1918; In addition, it has a nationally recognized golf club.
Its chalets surrounded by trees and hills invite tourists to explore the town from end to end and its former inn, which currently works only as a restaurant and party room, invites them to try its most exquisite regional dishes.